Melissa has a purpose-built studio and will be running a series of half, one and two day courses, as well as a weekly evening class.

All courses described below are also available as private tuition with dates to suit. 

On-site parking is available, with tea and coffee making facilities in the studio and a cafe at Aardvark Books close by.  

Please call 07931 351233 or send an email to melissahuntjewellery@hotmail.com for more information and to confirm a course booking. Thank you.

 

Melissa also currently co-ordinates City & Guilds in Creative Techniques Level Two in Jewellery Making at Westhope College near Craven Arms, Shropshire.

Jewellery making with Melissa Hunt


Oxford Barn, Oxford Yard, Brampton Bryan, Herefordshire SY7 0DH

Come through the village of Leintwardine with The Lion pub on the right, go over the bridge and turn first right on to the A4113 towards Bucknell and Aardvark Books. My Collie will give you a warm welcome, or happily stay in another part of the studio if preferred.

New price points for bookings taken from 1st January 2019:

half day: £70, one day: £140, two day: £280

private tuition: £70 half day/£150 one day

Coming up in 2018/19... 

Stacking rings 10am-4pm Sunday 20th January, Saturday 28th April, Sunday 6th October 2019,

Levels: All. Price: £120

Make a series of different but complimentary rings of your own designs that can be worn together or separately. You will learn how to anneal, bend, shape and solder sterling silver during this introductory course

Stacking bangles 10am-4pm Sunday 16th December 2018, Sunday 5th May, Saturday 17th August, Sunday 15th December 2019

Levels: All. Price: £120

Explore texturing, twisting, hammering, curling, shaping and spreading metal in to different but complimentary bangles on this one day course

Make a spinner ring 10am-4pm, Sunday 17th January, Saturday 27th April, Saturday 5th October 2019

Levels: All. Price: £120

Make a straight-sided ring to a specific size and a separate 'spinner'. Bring the two together using a magical technique that makes the inner ring unfurl and flute to capture the spinner whilst still allowing it to twirl

Enamelling techniques for jewellery 10am-4pm Sunday 9th December 2018, Saturday 23rd February, Saturday 18th May, Sunday 28th July, Sunday 18th August, Sunday 8th December 2019

Levels: All. Price: £120 

Kiln and torch fire powdered glass on to metals to produce beautiful colours and effects that can be used in your jewellery making. Explore the techniques of dry sifting, wet packing and cloisonne amongst others

Easter School 10am-4pm Thursday 11th April, Friday 12th April and Saturday 13th April 2019

Levels: All. Price: £280 

Take a relaxing three day break during the Easter holidays to create a silver ring with a cabochon setting followed by a personal piece to your own design

Summer School: beginners 10am-4pm Monday 8th July - Friday 12th July 2019

Levels: All. Price: £600

Build a foundation of traditional bench skills then add ring making, stone setting, chain making and the opportunity to make a personal piece on this fantastic five consecutive day course

Summer School: intermediate 10am-4pm Monday 15th July - Friday 19th July 2019

Levels: All. Price: £600

This five consecutive day course is an exciting journey in to shape, surface texture and form. Explore forging, anti-clastic raising, fold forming and inlay whilst working on personal pieces or building up an archive of test pieces

Summer School: stone setting evenings 6pm-8.30pm Tuesday 6th August - Friday 10th August 2019

Level: Intermediate. Price: £150 

Cabochon, tube, gypsy and tension settings plus pearl knotting on to silk thread...what a five consecutive summer evening treat! 

Make your own findings: catches and clasps 10am - 4pm Saturday 15th December 2018, Sunday 27th July, Saturday 14th December 2019

Levels: All. Price: £120

Melissa will guide you through traditional and contemporary jewellery clasp design and manufacture that will be appropriate to suit your own style

Jewellery Tuesday: evening classes 6-8.30pm Tuesday 8th January - Tuesday 12th February, Tuesday 26th February - Tuesday 2nd April, Tuesday 16th April - Tuesday 21st May, Tuesday 4th June - Tuesday 9th July, Tuesday 1st September - Tuesday 15th October, Tuesday 29th October - Tuesday 3rd December 2019

Levels: All. Price: £200

An opportunity to learn a foundation of bench skills or brush up on chosen techniques, this six week Tuesday evening class welcomes learners of all levels, and runs back-to-back throughout the year. Equipment and base metals included in the course fee with guidance given on purchasing precious metals. 

Make a silver ring 10am-4pm Saturday 19th January, Saturday 9th March, Saturday 15th June. Saturday 12th October 2019

Level: Beginner. Price: £120

Learn the basics of traditional jewellery making during this classic course: use copper to explore a range of techniques suitable for applying textures and finishes, then make a stunning silver ring to your own design and size. A really greater starter class. All equipment and materials are included in the course fee.

 

Soldering tips and practice 10am-4pm Saturday 8th December 2018, Sunday 9th June, Monday 7th October, Saturday 7th December 2019

Levels: Intermediate/advanced (minimum 10 tutored workshop hours experience)

Price: £120

Use base metals to explore the technique of silver soldering by practicing complex joins and creating hollow forms. All equipment and materials included in the course fee

Taster half-day: make a pair of silver cufflinks  2pm-4.30pm Saturday 1st December 2018, Sunday 10th February, Saturday 15th June, Saturday 30th November 2019

Levels: All. Price: £60 

An opportunity to learn some introductory jewellery skills and come away with a pair of cufflinks to your own design. A lovely way to spend an afternoon.

Taster half-day: tension setting 10am - 1pm Friday 14th December 2018, Thursday 28th March, Wednesday 24th July, Friday 13th December 2019

Levels: Intermediate/advanced. Price: £60 

Suspend a small, round, faceted stone in between two slots cut in to a silver ring, then set it, as if by magic. A breath-taking and enchanting technique

Taster half-day: gypsy setting  10am-1pm Thursday 22nd November 2018, Friday 5th April, Thursday 21st November 2019  

Levels: Intermediate/advanced. Price £60

Set a small, round faceted stone in to silver so that the top of the stone is flush with the surface of the metal leaving a beautiful sparkling dot of colour on a workpiece 

Anti-clastic raising: make a silver bangle 10am-4pm Sunday 17th March, Sunday 15th September 2019

Levels: Intermediate/advanced (minimum 10 tutored workshop hours experience)

Price: £120 excluding silver

Experiment with the beautiful technique of anti-clastic raising to create undulating and twisting forms in base metals before applying them to sheet silver

Forged Jewellery  10am - 4pm Sunday 11th November 2018, Saturday 16th February, Sunday 10th November 2019

Levels: All. Price: £120 including base metals

Having trained in architectural metalwork as well as jewellery design, I am able to run this class offering transferable skills...using an anvil and hammers, we will have the opportunity to manipulate metal to create twists, circles, curves and joints in base metals, employing blacksmithing skills to forge small scale, wearable forms.

Stone setting 1 10am-4pm Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th March 2019

Levels: Intermediate/advanced (minimum 5 tutored workshop hours) Price: £240

The techniques of cabochon, tube and gypsy setting are offered on this two day course. All equipment and materials are provided to produce a sample of each of these three stone setting styles

 

Stone setting 2 10am-4pm Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th January 2019

Levels: Intermediate/advanced (minimum 10 tutored workshop hours experience)

Price: £240

A great follow-on class from Stone setting 1, the techniques of channel and claw setting are offered on this two day course. All equipment and materials are provided to produce a sample of both of these stone setting styles

 

Stone setting 3 10am-4pm Sunday 16th June, Saturday 7th September 2019

Levels: Intermediate/advanced (minimum 10 tutored workshop hours experience)

Price: £120

Learn how to create a tapered collet mount, solder it on to a workpiece and secure a round, faceted stone in to the setting on this one day course. All equipment and materials are included in the course fee to produce a sample of this setting style

 

Etching and photo-etching for jewellers 10am-4pm Sunday 19th May, Saturday 19th October 2019

Levels: All.   Price: £120

Explore the magical technique of etching on to metal using resists and Ferric Nitrate. Learn how to apply your own photographs, text and patterns on to jewellery. All equipment and materials are included in the course fee

 

Water casting for jewellers 10am - 1pm Thursday 4th April, Saturday 26th October 2019

Levels: All.   Price: £60

Use moving water to create beautiful organic silver forms that are different to each other every time. All equipment and 20gms of silver casting grain included in the course fee

 

Wirework, beads and pearls 10am-4pm Saturday 4th May, Saturday 21st September 2019

Levels: All. Price: £120

Form, cut and solder jump rings to create a variety of chain styles on this one day course. Explore bead stringing and pearl knotting on to beautifully coloured twisted silk threads. All equipment and base metals included in the course fee

 

Make a silver spoon 10am-4pm Sunday 24th February, Sunday 14th April, Saturday 2nd November 2019

Levels: All. Price: £120 excluding silver

Explore the techniques of forging, press-forming and carving wooden formers to create a silver spoon to your own design and size

 

Cold Connections for jewellers 10am-4pm Sunday 10th March, Saturday 23rd May, Saturday 31st August, Sunday 27th October 2019

Levels: Intermediate/advanced (minimum 10 tutored workshop hours experience)

Price: £120 

Hinges, rivets, tabs and screws...cold connections are fantastic fixing mechanisms that are alternatives to soldering. They offer the addition of movement and a variety of materials to a piece of work such as wood, leather, paper, fabric, resin and shell

Fold forming 10am - 4pm Saturday 20th April, Saturday 14th September 2019

Levels: All. Price: £120 

Discover Charles Lewton-Brains technique of folding and unfurling thin metal sheets to create beautiful organic forms and flowing lines 

Further courses and opportunities...

Make a cloak pin

Make a weathervane

Make a sundial

Make your own wedding rings: couples come to the studio on a day of their choice to make their own or each others wedding bands

Rent-a-bench: come along to the studio on a full (£35) or half (£20) day of your choice to use the facilities and further your own pieces 

 

        

 

 

Stonesetting for Contemporary Jewellery Makers: 

Techniques, Inspiration and Professional Advice for 

Stunning Results


By Melissa Hunt 

Published in the UK by Search Press

This book by Melissa Hunt is a collection of techniques for combining gems with metal. It offers information about choosing stones according to their properties then designing, making and marketing stone-set pieces.

Melissa has been making jewellery for twenty five years. She has drawn on her experiences to create this book, presenting traditional techniques alongside contemporary stonesetting ideas.

Stonesetting for Contemporary Jewellery Makers has tutorials appropriate for all skill levels: its aim is to offer tips for the beginner and demystify some of the more complicated techniques for the advanced maker.

Commissioned by Rotovision and distributed by Search Press.

Buy a copy from HERE


Pieces for the 20/20 Gallery, Much Wenlock, Shropshire created from Chinese mother of pearl gaming counters, silver, druzy, lava beads and a rose cut white topaz...